We Are Stupid – Episode 17

Some people know all of the rules to the Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, but many, many more do not. Here’s a list of the things we screwed up in our never-ending search for Pathfinder perfection…

Though it rarely sounds like it from week to week, Troy may be making things easier on Barron than they really should be. There’s only one rule in question this week, and it came because of the tight-quarters combat we dealt with following J’Son’s death. Lorc and Barron were jammed shoulder to shoulder in the alley facing Lorc’s home. The orcs that had pulled J’Son out of Lorc’s house immediately moved in to attack, and stopped up the only way out of the alley. As Lorc attempted to shoot them down point-blank, Barron elected to go for the orc in the rear that was shooting at us with a crossbow. Troy advised Grant to do this, citing the “fact” that he wouldn’t take a penalty to the attack roll since that orc was not in melee combat with any of Barron’s allies. While it’s true that Barron does NOT take a penalty to his role, it’s also true that the orc gets a bonus to his AC! From the Cover section of the Pathfinder Core Rulebook, when making a ranged attack:

…choose any corner of your square. If any line from this corner to any corner of the target’s square passes through a square or border that blocks line of effect or provides cover, or through a square occupied by a creaturethe target has cover (+4 to AC).

Wow!  I mean wow. Not only have we been playing wrong (and will continue to play wrong because I don’t even know how often we can enforce this rule without eventually killing our characters or have Skid kill Troy in real life), but I’ve never played that way in any Pathfinder game I’ve ever played with anyone. We always played that you could shoot through allies’ squares, or even enemy creature squares. The only thing that stopped arrows (or bullets in this instance) were walls and the only time you were at a disadvantage was when your target was in melee combat with an ally. Well, that’s just wrong apparently.

The rule makes sense. Even if you take out the part about “choosing one corner of your square” blah, blah, blah. You can easily play this game without a map or squares and you can enforce this rule without one as well. If ANYTHING is in between you and your target during a ranged attack, they get a bonus to their AC. It makes perfect sense.

I feel like it’s pretty intense and that we won’t use it for a bit, but if we decide to do it, it will certainly make life tougher on Barron’s pistol and Lorc’s Rapid Shot. Then again, maybe that’s what it’s all about. Maybe it’s time for someone to live by the rules and die by the rules. Only time will tell. And Troy, Troy can just tell as well.


Leave a Reply

Be the First to Comment!

Notify of