Some people know all of the rules to the Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, but many, many more do not. Here’s a list of the things we screwed up in our never-ending search for Pathfinder perfection…
Beware the end of days, when Skid and I suggest that Troy enforce a rule that is not helpful to the PCs and our wise and all-knowing dictator decides to give us a free pass. This is not a good sign, my friends. To me, it is as if he knows he’s about to do terrible things to us in the coming weeks and this is his peace offering before the slaughter.
Or maybe Troy is just stupid.
When an invisible Della decided to cast grease under one of the ogres during our surprise round, the question came up of whether or not Della would become visible after doing this. Common knowledge about Pathfinder rules is that when you’re invisible and you attack a creature, you become visible. You’ve broken the spell. Matthew, though, wants to know if there is a loophole here. A spell that is not a targeted attack on a creature, but instead just an innocent puddle of slippery grease on the ground that happens to well up under a foe – that wouldn’t break the invisibility spell right?
Wrong. Matthew, as the resident caster of the group, please read your spells before you use them. Here’s the line directly from the spell description:
The spell ends if the subject attacks any creature. For purposes of this spell, an attack includes any spell targeting a foe or whose area or effect includes a foe.
Since the puddle of grease was placed directly under the ogre with the intent to make it slip and go prone, Della would have become visible. How would this have changed things for our sneaky heroes? Not much it would seem. We didn’t even get to Sir Willimet’s epic round two charge before all four ogres were dead or dying and all of the captives were freed. That a pretty efficient party right there.
Until the next instance of gross negligence or willful neglect, I’m Joe O’Brien. And this has been We Are Stupid.