We Are Stupid – Episode 83

Some people know all of the rules to the Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, but many, many more do not. Here’s a list of the things we screwed up in our never-ending search for Pathfinder perfection…

Have you ever been corrected by your loyal, dedicated, and knowledgeable fan base, mention on air that you were playing wrong and now you’ll fix it, and then proceed to immediately get the exact rule in question wrong again? That ever happen to you? No? Only us? Well, we are stupid.

When Troy rolled a confirmed critical hit with the leucrotta’s bite and did double damage to Barron, we corrected him on a rule that we’ve been getting wrong for a long time – that you do not roll your damage, then multiply that number by two. You roll the damage dice twice, then add the strength modifier for each roll and you’ve got your total.

Troy said, “Okay, so if the damage is 2d6+3, you don’t roll 2d6+3 and double it? You roll 4d6+3?” And this is where I chime in with a really stupid, “+3, yes.” Which is incorrect. You also double the modifier. So it’s actually 4d6+6. I know it doesn’t sound like a big deal. It’s only three points of damage, but the fact is that with Sir Willimet’s mounted combat build, I get triple damage on a lance charge and double damage anytime I charge with any other melee weapon. Two weeks ago I laid out massive damage to the huge cyclops by getting the benefits of the exact points that I denied to Troy’s creature this week. I’m sure we can all agree that a successful cheat against Troy is pretty much just a small win for the good guys, but it’s not something I like to do. I don’t like a stacked deck. So, I apologize for reinforcing that stupid mistake and I promise it won’t happen again.

–Joe

Leave a Reply

Be the First to Comment!

avatar
  Subscribe  
Notify of