We Are Stupid – Episode 84

Some people know all of the rules to the Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, but many, many more do not. Here’s a list of the things we screwed up in our never-ending search for Pathfinder perfection…

There are times when we get away with breaking rules that wound have killed our characters, and then there are times that we get away with breaking rules that could have saved our characters. Pathfinder is, after all, about finding balance, is it not?

Oneness.

Apparently, we didn’t think it was enough punishment that Barron had to take 2d6 bleed from a drake’s bleeding critical attack, we wanted to stack that up with the 1d6 bleed he had from a previous wound for a total of 3d6. That is as deadly as it gets. The rules, however, prove us wrong. Bleed effects do not stack unless they are different types of bleed. Since these were the same type, Barron should instead take the worse of whichever bleed effects are on him. In this case, he would only take 2d6 bleed. I can’t believe I just wrote “only 2d6 bleed”. Without magical healing available, that is a character-killer.

Speaking of character-killer, Troy forgot to double the bonus damage from the drake on it’s crit against Barron (which is far worse than adding 1d6 beed). He said +19 and I didn’t catch it at the time, but that flyby bite attack should have been 4d6+38. Later in the episode he said that the bite itself without a crit was +19, so that initial crit would have put Barron in a much worse situation. That is a mistake I’m thankful for, however, because if Barron goes down, and Nestor can’t do ranged attacks – TPK.

Even with that huge error by Troy in our favor…Wait! Maybe it wasn’t an error now that I’m writing this. Maybe Troy was just trying to keep us alive! No, no, he was just stupid.

We’re not out of the woods yet. For the first time ever, I think, my character is the one on the chopping block at Troy’s cliffhanger. Will is lying unconscious at -8 HP with a 17 Con. I’m sad for Will as I think he might be done, but I must have faith! He is a Paladin of Iomedae after all. Perhaps she’ll intervene.

Then again…she’s powerless against the mighty Troy. Sigh.

Until next time, my friends, I’ll see you on the other side of this breath attack!

-Joe

EDIT: 1/5/2017 – Well I may be wrong yet again. Bleed effects normally do not stack, but is Bleeding Critical an exception to that rule? According to the wording of the feat, “The effects of this feat stack.” Does that mean the effects stack with other critical feats (which also do not normally stack), or that the bleed effects stack with other bleed effects and themselves? I’m not sure what to do here, but I think the safest option is to consider Barron afflicted with 3d6 bleed at the start of our next session. Safe for the rules, of course. Not safe for Barron. Not safe at all.

Leave a Reply

avatar
  Subscribe  
Notify of