We Are Stupid – Episode 89

Some people know all of the rules to the Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, but many, many more do not. Here’s a list of the things we screwed up in our never-ending search for Pathfinder perfection…

Welcome to the late-week edition of We Are Stupid. I missed a glaring error in Episode 89, and it wasn’t until listener and satellite rules lawyer David Stronczek brought it to our attention via Facebook that we even knew we’d made a mistake.

Well, this week’s cheater is Grant, and he would have gotten away with it, too, if it wasn’t for those damn kids and their Facebook! Well, sorry, Barron, as the rules lawyer on retainer and known pain-in-the-ass, I’ve got to break the bad news to you about your new class. Also, there’s got to be an honorable mention for all of our handling of Energy Drain and Negative Levels. I won’t go into detail on that now because neither I, nor anyone associated with this podcast, understands Energy Drain or Negative Levels. We’ll need several more weeks on that one.

Onto the Inquisitor Inquisition! During the encounter with the wights, Grant, clearly excited to use his newfound judgment ability, enacted a sacred smite (giving his weapon the good descriptor for the purposes of bypassing damage reduction). Problem is, he’ll have to wait another five levels levels before he can use that ability on Barron:

SmitingThis judgment bathes the inquisitor’s weapons in a divine light. The inquisitor’s weapons count as magic for the purposes of bypassing damage reductionAt 6th level, the inquisitor’s weapons also count as one alignment type (chaoticevilgood, or lawful) for the purpose of bypassing damage reduction. The type selected must match one of the inquisitor’s alignments.

And herein lies the most frustrating part about multi-classing. I love it, don’t get me wrong, but this is frustrating. This ability is extremely cool, but unless Grant pours the next five levels into Inquisitor, he won’t gain the benefits of this ability. He will be a combined 12th level character before that happens! An ability that any 6th level inquisitor can do, you can’t do until 12th. Then again, you do get to have a gun.

There could be some debate out there that his character level has to be 6th in order to use the ability, not just his Inquisitor level. I don’t think that argument holds water though. Not only is it pretty standard across all classes that abilities are unlocked at the class level, not the character level, but there’s just no good reason to give Barron instant access to that ability. There’s a very good reason to not give it to him: game balance. Barron already does amazing damage, and we should probably make him wait a tad longer before he’s easily bypassing the DR of demons.

Oh, and before I forget: Barron, as he is now, could actually never give the good descriptor to a weapon. Read that last sentence from the rule book one more time. Barron cannot align his weapon good unless he’s good. If I’m not mistaken, he’s lawful neutral, which means he could only ever align his weapon lawful. Yet another great insight from David. Thanks for keeping us honest!

That’s it for me, guys! Until we cheat again next week, I remain…

-Joe

Leave a Reply

avatar
  Subscribe  
Notify of